current news / first-year guide / on-campus lgbt / update

Speaker Series: Straight Up, a real talk about allyship

Hi everyone!

I know you’re all looking forward to this week’s First Friday: The Vagina Ball but come on, let’s be real–I know you’re even MORE excited for next week’s Speaker Series!

This month’s event will be next Wednesday, December 8th, at 8 p.m. in 702 Hamilton and will focus on the ins and outs of allyship.  We have a great panel lined up, and as a sneak preview I wanted to share an article about one of our wonderful confirmed panelists, Hudson Taylor.  Hudson has just recently joined the coaching staff for Columbia’s Wrestling Team, and is known for being a strong and vocal ally–just the way we like them!

This article is a little old, but definitely captures Hudson’s attitude toward LGBT rights: passionate and excited!

Read it here; find some of the highlights below:

“For me and my generation, [LGBT rights] is a pressing issue,” said Taylor, 23, a native of New Jersey. “I believe that whatever history I’m a part of, I’m responsible for. If I feel something is unjust or unequal, I feel a responsibility to do something about it.”

While Taylor spoke positively about his teammates, he will challenge them if he hears language demeaning of gays. “A common way to degrade a teammate is to call them a ‘fag,’ ” said Taylor, who hesitated even saying the word in our interview. “This is not unique to wrestling, but a common discourse for many male sports teams. It’s important to address it publicly and say something in front of the team.

If this sounds interesting to you, come out to next Wednesday’s Speaker Series: Straight Up to hear Hudson and others discuss the importance and complexities that come with being an ally.

There are, though, those breakthrough moments when he and a teammate will have a meaningful dialogue and “I think I make a difference.”

 

Leave a Reply

